About the Intergovernmental Commission

The main goal of the Intergovernmental Russian-Ugandan Commission on Economic, Scientific and Technical Cooperation is to strengthen relations between the two countries, as well as further develop their economic, scientific and technical cooperation.

The Intergovernmental Commission was established in accordance with the Resolution of the Government of the Russian Federation dated August 21, 2014 No. 1601-r "On the signing of the Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Republic of Uganda on the establishment of the Intergovernmental Russian-Uganda Commission on Economic and Scientific and Technical Cooperation". The co-chairmen of the Commission are Deputy Minister of Digital Development, Communications and Mass Media of the Russian Federation Aleksey Konstantinovich Volin and State Minister for Foreign Affairs (International Affairs) of the Republic of Uganda Henry Oryem Okello. The first meeting of the Intergovernmental Comimsion was held in Kampala on October 11-13, 2016.

The Intergovernmental Commission has several functions:

The Commission faces the following objectives: